Jonathan Cain’s New Musical Journey is “What God Wants to Hear”

Rock band Journey’s Jonathan Cain released a new solo album titled ‘What God Wants to Hear’.

Journey, the American rock band founded in 1973 and responsible for a series of hit songs such as “Don’t Stop Believin’,” “Open Arms,” and “Separate Ways (Worlds Apart),” has had a strong keyboardist and rhythm guitarist in Jonathan Cain. The 66-year-old musician and songwriter released his newest album October 21. The solo album, titled What God Wants to Hear was released on Identity Records with Fuel Music Distribution.
Jonathan Cain’s New Musical Journey is “What God Wants to Hear”[/tweetthis]

The roots of his solo album are anchored in Cain’s personal faith journey through the years. When he was young, Cain reports that he wanted to be a priest. His faith was tested when in third grade at Our Lady of the Angels School a terrible fire resulted in the death of 92 people but he was spared. The experience impacted him greatly. While talking about his new album, Cain remarked, “Only God can take a mess and turn it into a message, a test into a testimony, a trial into a triumph, a victim into victory….I've always been seeking out songs since I was young. I never had any idea how rich the Bible was with imagery. I got lost in it. It feels like I'm just starting to believe again."

The album will contain the following tracks:

01) Deeper Than Deep"
02) "Bold in Prayer"
03) "Rush into Me"
04) "Have Your Way with Us"
05) "In Your Waters"
06) "What God Wants to Hear"
07) "Sanctify Segue"
08) "Sanctify"
09) "Fall into You"
10) "This House"
11) "Can't Take My Eyes Off of You"
12) "Why I Breathe"
13) "Because the Blood"

Cain’s marriage to Paula White, a senior pastor of New Destiny Christian Center in April of 2015, together with leading the Worship service at White’s annual women’s conference influenced him to produce the solo album.

Since joining the rock band Journey in 1980 Cain has penned many hit songs such as “Don’t Stop Believin’,” “Faithfully,” “Who’s Cryin’ Now,” and “Open Arms.” Journey has received many awards and achieved many milestones. The band has produced two gold albums, eight multi-platinum albums and one diamond album. Their song, “Don’t Stop believin’,” became the top selling track in iTunes history for songs not released in the 21st century.

Cain also saw success with his super-group Bad English. The band had three hit singles, including the number one hit “When I See You Smile” and a platinum-selling debut album.

Cain’s album was released October 21 and a bonus track, “Remove Every Veil,” can be found on his website.


Follow the Conversation on Twitter