New Apostles announced at the 185th Mormon Semiannual General Conference, bringing the total number of Apostles who have served to 100.

This Saturday saw the appointment of the three new apostles to the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. It has been more than a century since the Quorum has had three vacancies. The three church leaders who were named the newest apostles are Elder Dale G. Renlund, Elder Ronald A. Rasband, and Elder Gary E. Stevenson. With the call of Elder Renlund, the number of apostles who have served the Church since it was established in 1830 reaches 100.

It was first counselor in the First Presidency, President Henry B. Eyring who declared the names of the three apostles in the Saturday's noon session which was held to observe the Church’s 185th Semiannual General Conference in Salt Lake City, Utah. The program was broadcasted for millions of followers in more than 80 languages.

About the new apostles

Just like the apostles in the olden times, the apostles of the Church come from a variety of different professions that span law, medicine, military, business, and academia. They too leave behind their professions to serve full-time in their role of an apostle and as witnesses to Jesus Christ. The Quorum of the Twelve Apostles happens to be the second-highest presiding body in the organization of the church. An apostle’s administrative responsibilities include overseeing and monitoring programs and working towards the development of the Church in the global context.

Church members also look to them for their spiritual learning and advancement in the form of their inspired teachings and their messages to Church members all over the world. Followers can see and hear their messages from any part of the world via regional and local meetings and in other formats such as Church publications, print, video, and even social media.

In the case of a vacancy, a replacement is called by the President of the Church to fill the vacancy in the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles. The President thereby seeks and receives inspiration as he extends the call. The new member of the Quorum can be called from the general authorities or from the general Church membership from anywhere around the world.

Elder Dale G. Renlund had initially served in the First Quorum of Seventy before being named to the Quorum of Twelve.

Elder Ronald A. Rasband was called to the Quorum of Twelve while he was serving as the senior president in the Presidency of the Seventy.

Elder Gary E. Stevenson will continue in his position of presiding bishop of the Church, a position he has been serving since March 2012, until his replacement is named; and had already rendered his service in the First Quorum of Seventy, which he was called to back in 2008.


Follow the Conversation on Twitter